The Selection. The Spin-Off.

C84EAEC6-6EA4-4D52-857F-6ACAE0D21E84

Ok, so technically, this is not a spin-off, its the last 2 books of The Selection Series, but as it does not follow the same main characters as the first three books, I have chosen to refer to it as a spin-off.

First things first, I did not go into The Heir expecting to like it, & at first, I will fully admit that I struggled with the characters & the storyline.

First, Eadlyn came off as such a self-important spoiled brat, that I just couldn’t believe that Maxon & America had somehow raised that child. Second, there was Josie, as I don’t want to spoil a thing for anyone reading this who has not read the series, I won’t disclose too much about who Josie is, what I will say is not only did she too come off as brat with her head in the clouds, I struggled to believe that anyone would raise their child in a palace & allow them to invade the Princess’ privacy like some sort of bratty little sister, which she was not. I also struggled to believe that Josie’s parents would be the type to not teach her boundaries & respect. Seconds, I struggled a bit with the predictability of the first book, but then, it was part of The Selection series, so really, it was to be expected that some things would be a given and therefore predictable.

However, as the story progressed, by this point end of book 4, beginning of book 5, The Crown, which thanks to a very inconvenient power outage in the middle of the night, took me less than 1 day to read, I found myself liking Eadlyn more, as she grew as a person. I also found myself really caring for the characters involved in this side of the story, grateful that I still got more than enough America & Maxon, as well as the new character & cheering for my favorite potential husband for her, much like I had with done in books 1-3 with America, and while I will say that I fully expected the ending to go one way, while simultaneously hoping it would go another, I loved how it ended. I always love a good plot twist, even if some people would probably not think of it as a plot twist, anything that keeps things away from the predictable, I tend to enjoy, even though in the past some plot twists have annoyed me beyond words, I still enjoy them.

Overall, I give The Selection Series a solid ★★★★☆ & recommend it to anyone interested in romance with a side of dystopian.

Well, I have more unemployed days ahead of me & plenty of books to keep me stress-free & distracted so,

Til next time!

-N

Leave a comment