The Selection Series.

B1FD915A-50A3-4192-A397-86D458C48F8C_1_105_c.jpeg

The last thing I did yesterday before I went to sleep, was to finish book 3 in The Selection series by Kiera Cass. This is a series, which follows the order of The Selection, The Elite & The One, that I had stumbled upon a million times while book shopping and had never once had the slightest interest in reading until someone, an admin from the group, suggested the series and since my local library had them available through Overdrive, I figured what could it hurt to at least try?

I actually enjoyed this series, it kept me interested enough that I read the first 3 books, and while I kept thinking that at some point it would be less The Bachelor and more The Hunger Games or even Divergent, but it stayed pretty true to its Bachelor inspired roots. In some ways, you could say this book was a bit on the predictable side, but not so much that you got bored with the story. Yes, Prince Maxon was a tad bit perfect & America ever the rebel, but isn’t that what we want out of stories anyways? Strong females, who aren’t afraid to be outspoken & stand up for what they believe & picture perfect males who are everything we will never find in real life?  We read for the fantasy & the possibility of it all because life has plenty of stress & disappointment on its own.

And speaking of disappointments, I was looking into book 4 in the series, The Heir and was a bit disappointed to see that it sort of goes into a different direction that, from the info at least, has nothing to do with Maxon & America, at least not directly. This series also has a 5th book by the name of The Crown & a few novella’s that I won’t be reading because I am just not a fan of novella’s and short stories, have yet to read 1 that I feel has anything important to add to the story. Anyway, enough rambling,  I have borrowed book 4 and might get to it after I read other books, especially since I made a trip to the library Friday & picked up Kasie West’s newest book, Moment of Truth.

Til next time,

-N

Leave a comment