Kasie West does it again.

Screen Shot 2020-03-11 at 7.21.12 PM

I am not a rabid fan. Of any author. I am probably one of the most level headed & open-minded people out there, I like what I like and I don’t waste time with what I don’t.

With that said, I really loved this book.

I will not sit here and say that I have loved every single book that Kasie West has ever written, but I also won’t say that I haven’t really loved most of them, because I have. I don’t know what it is about this particular author’s books, but I love them, I realize I am mid 30’s & she writes YA, but her characters and worlds tend to be so relatable, so real & thank God this book did not disappoint!
This book has been on my Amazon wishlist [and still is, sadly] since I found out it was coming out, and then because it’s easier to not look at the things you want to buy when you are currently unemployed, I sort of forgot about it, until I started seeing some posts, and I confirmed my suspicions, everyone was reading her latest book & I was still waiting for my first paycheck to come in… and I hadn’t read in MONTHS!
And I knew, I just KNEW that if I could get my hands on that book, I would be able to read it, and to make a long story short, local library + overdrive = a happy Namie.

I really don’t know what it is about Sophie, Micah & the rest of the character that I loved & enjoyed. Maybe it was how light & yet oddly profound the story could be at times, maybe it was being able to relate to the teenage anger of a parent that left & the growth that comes from having honest & supportive friends, maybe it was the funny bickering that took part sometimes or just the fact that my soul was desperate for a good book to lose myself in because it helps me relax. Whatever it was, this book really helped me fight my way out of that slump I’ve been in, where I’ve had to force myself to TRY to read. With Kasie’s latest, I just sort of found myself missing the characters while at work, and disconnecting from all things early so that I could read more & find out what happens next.

Now, as I am finishing this rambling post about the joys of Kasie & her books, I am headed for the library to borrow yet another one of her books that recently released & I have not read yet. No overdrive to my rescue this time, sadly. I have to be a functioning adult, and get up and go… Wish me luck!

Til next time!

Love,

-N

Leave a comment